About The Sylvia Hotel, a Vancouver Landmark
A Unique Lodging Experience
The Sylvia Hotel located on English Bay and beside Stanley Park offers a unique lodging experience. We have 120 rooms and suites to choose from, all distinctive in their view and layout. The Sylvia Hotel prides itself on outstanding service, friendly staff and great value, which is why people continue to visit us year after year. The Sylvia Hotel was the first pet friendly hotel in Vancouver. Being across the street from English Bay in Vancouver's West End and a short distance to Stanley Park, provides our two and four legged guests with an unique Vancouver experience.
Surrounded by Scenic Beauty see the map>
The Sylvia Hotel is surrounded by the beauty of English Bay and Stanley Park. Tennis, jogging, windsurfing, kayaking, rollerblading, bicycling on the seawall, swimming in English Bay , all at our doorstep. Take the small ferry to Granville Island or the Maritime Museum and the Planetarium. Minutes away are the trendy Robson Street for shopping, the Vancouver Art Gallery and unlimited dining experiences.
Experience Sylvia's Beachside Dining more about Sylvia's Dining>
Enjoy a spectacular sunset in Vancouver's very first cocktail bar Sylvia's or a meal overlooking English Bay in Sylvia's Restaurant, Bistro or Patio.
The Famous Sylvia Hotel cat "Mr. Got To Go" - Children's Books
Come and learn about the famous Sylvia Hotel cat, Mr. Got To Go who has inspired two popular children's books. They are engaging tales of the stray cat who arrived at the Sylvia Hotel one day, took control of the premises and decided to check in permanently. The two beautifully narrated and illustrated books are available for sale in the hotel lobby.
Come and discover the Sylvia Hotel! make a reservation>
The Sylvia's History
Constructed in 1912
The Sylvia was designed as an apartment building by Mr. W.P. White, a Seattle architect. It was built in 1912 by Booker, Campbell and Whipple Construction Company for a Mr. Goldstein, who had a daughter named Sylvia. During the Depression the Sylvia Court Apartments fell on hard times, and in 1936 the building was converted into an apartment hotel. With the advent of World War II, many of the suites were converted to rooms, in order to provide accommodation for the merchant-marine crews.
After the war the number of permanent residents in the hotel gradually decreased, until by the sixties the Sylvia had become a completely transient full-service hotel. In 1954 it opened the first cocktail bar in Vancouver. Until 1958 the Sylvia Hotel was the tallest building in the West End. A well known landmark, its brick and terra-cotta extension softened by the Virginia creeper that now completely covers the Gilford Street side of the hotel.
In 1975 the Sylvia was designated by the City of Vancouver as a heritage building, thereby ensuring its survival for many years to come.